The Barnstable Teachers Association is a 650-plus member education association, representing Barnstable Public School educators in three bargaining units: Licensed Employees, Administrative Assistants, and Paraprofessionals.
Copyright 2013 Barnstable Teachers Association. All Rights Reserved.
Barnstable Teachers' Association
100 West Main Street Suite 7
Hyannis, MA 02601


President Brooke Styche, BHS
First VP vacancy
Second VP Keith Caldwell, BHS
Treasurer Jim Buckman, BHS
Secretary Lea Peterson, BIS
Membership Director
       Dale Forest, BUES

Executive Board
BHS Mike Smith
BIS Allison McNaughton                                        
BUES Meghann Welsh                                        
PreK-3 Brenna Long, BCHMCPS                                
Para Jeanne Stevens, Enoch Cobb                                        
Admin Assistant vacancy

Board of Directors (Building Reps)
BHS Carol Chamberlain-Hebert,
David Gorrill, Julie Lariviere,
Mark McLaughlin, Bob Wingard
BIS Domenic Botolino, Aaron Buckler
BUES Holly Silva, vacancy
HyWest Terri O'Hara
Centerville Lynn Moen
BWB Stacy Hadfield
WVE Maura Noreen
BCHMCPS Pam Autery
Enoch Cobb Catherine McDonough
Admin Assistant Laura MacNeill

Thinking about Retirement?
Visit the BTA Office: 9am-1pm,
second Saturday of each month, Sept.-June.
Call MTRS Specialist Larry Abruzzi for an appointment

"like" the BTA on facebook!

Summer is almost over and the new school year will begin for all BTA members on Monday, August 29th. Details concerning opening day should be coming from administration within the week.

We have three tentative agreements that are up for ratification. In layman's terms: new contracts and you'll need to vote! We will have meetings to discuss the terms for all units during the beginning weeks of September and hold the vote at BHS prior to the end of the month.

There is a large push from MTA, and from the BTA, to mobilize members to phone bank and canvas and get the word out to VOTE NO on QUESTION 2 in November. This question urges voters to lift the cap on charter schools--with Barnstable already siphoning over $2 MILLION a year to schools over which the district and the taxpayers have no control, it does not make sense to lift the cap and bring more charters to the state--depleting even more resources that we so desperately need. Please stay up-to-date with this initative and see a building rep if you'd like to get involved.

We will be having elections for Paraprofessional Building Reps, and special elections for the AA Executive Board Rep and the BTA First Vice President in the month of September. These are yearly elections (Paras) and special elections due to retirements from Barnstable (AA) and retirement from the BTA (VP). Please be on the lookout for nomination forms and consider running!